The Na Parkánu tap-room is named after its position by the town walls - parkány. It is designed in the spirit of the golden age of the Plzeň hostelry trade – the 1920s. The tap-room is directly linked with the Brewery Museum – so the beer pumped in the tap-room is also an exhibit in its own way.
This all goes to create a lovely atmosphere designed to satisfy visitors’ appetites for the real beer experience.
The Na Parkánu tap-room offers not only excellent draught beer, but also a wide selection of culinary specialties. There is an outdoor terrace open in the summer.
The building at number 59 has a very interesting history, not merely as it is at the end of Veleslavínová ulice, which was closed off here by the town walls, making it seem the most far-flung corner of the entire town.
The building has been used for a variety of purposes, once even as a prison. In 1824 the municipal malt house was established here. Towards the end of the 19th century, when the era of the small malt houses was coming to an end, the building was used as a locksmith’s workshop, a store for the fire brigade, and later became part of the hospital. In the 20th century it was reported to be a workshop for making toys, a carpentry shop, and a book-binder’s. In 1966 the famed Na Parkánu pub was opened here, but was closed for reconstruction work in 1998.
The Na Parkánu tap-room opened on 17 May 2004, where you can try excellent beer and specialties in the atmosphere of the old Plzeň hostelries.